About This Blog

Hi, I'm Ricardo Lopes, a tech lead and backend engineer. Welcome to my blog! This is where I'm sharing a collection of thoughts, experiments, wise advice from my mentors, notes on things I'm reading, and more. All views are my own and not of any employer.

My first goal with this blog is selfish: I want to write about those topics because writing helps clarify my thinking and crystallise what I've learnt. I've been learning so much since I started this journey over a decade ago, if I don't write things down, I risk forgetting important anecdotes and nuggets of wisdom.

But if that were my only goal, I wouldn't need to post anything in public.

I believe I wouldn't be where I am today in my career if it weren't for the exceptional mentors I had along the way. I've learnt a lot from them, and I'm a much better developer today than what I would have been otherwise.

Now that I've benefited from all those lessons, I believe it's my turn to pay it forward and to share what I've learnt with you.

I'm no guru preaching his gospel to his disciples. I don't claim to have all the answers, and I still view myself more as a student, not as a teacher. So this is more about sharing notes as peers of the things that resonated with me the most.

If you're curious and want to learn more, be sure to subscribe and follow along. I hope to make it well worth your time!

You can also follow or DM me on X (formerly Twitter) or LinkedIn.